Our Team


Rebecca Jacobson, MPH, Executive Director

Email Rebecca

Rebecca joined us as Executive Director in October 2018 bringing nearly 20 years of nonprofit operations and program management experience to her role. Rebecca received her Master of Public Health in Health Promotion & Education from the University of South Carolina Arnold School and is passionate about sharing cessation resources and disseminating teen vaping prevention education throughout the state. Rebecca spearheaded our name change and new brand development and is excited to usher in a new chapter of smoking and tobacco prevention efforts for South Carolina as Smokefree SC.

Barbara Derrick, Finance & Operations Director

Email Barbara

Barbara began serving as our Finance & Operations Directors in May 2019 after retiring from 36 years in SC state government.  She most recently served as Deputy Director of Administrative Services at DSS, and served in the same capacity at SC DHEC and LLR. Barbara is a graduate of the University of South Carolina with a BS in Business Administration – Accounting. Barbara is working on our Point of Sale project, and having teenage daughters who are surrounded by vaping daily, she is particularly passionate about the issue and glad to be able to help affect change.

Nancy Cheney, SC CAN Quit Coordinator

Email Nancy

After a distinguished career with the American Cancer Society, including being a founding member of the SC Tobacco-Free Collaborative (now Smokefree SC) and the SC Cancer Alliance, Nancy continues to work part-time on cancer prevention initiatives. As the SC CAN Quit Coordinator, she has engaged cancer centers around the state to participate in promoting quit to cancer patients to help improve treatment outcomes.

Board of Directors

Jim Thrasher, PhD, President

University of South Carolina Arnold School of Public Health, Columbia

David Keely, MD, Vice-President

​Retired Physician & Community Advocate, Rock Hill

Beth Johnson, Secretary

American Cancer S​ociety Cancer Action Network, Hartsville


Thomas Jackson, Interim Treasurer

Retired Retailer & Community Advocate, Columbia

Sharon Biggers, MPH, CHES (n(non-voting)

​SC Department of Health and Environmental Control, Columbia

Kathleen Cartmell, PhD, MPH

Clemson University, Senaca

K. Michael Cummings, PhD

​MUSC Hollings Cancer Center, Charleston


Taquina "TQ" Davis, MA

​Prisma Health Midlands, Columbia

Deborah Dunbar

The Balm in Gilead, Dalzell

Reston Hartswell, MS-MPH

​Epidemiology Doctoral Student, Columbia

Lloyd Kapp, MD

BCBS of South Carolina, Columbia

Smokefree SC

1800 St. Julian Place, Suite 408

Columbia, SC 29204


© Smokefree SC