Our Team



Rebecca Jacobson, MPH

Executive Director

Rebecca joined Smokefree SC as Executive Director in October 2018 bringing over 20 years of nonprofit operations and program management experience to her role. Rebecca received her Master of Public Health in Health Promotion & Education from the University of South Carolina Arnold School and is passionate about sharing cessation resources and disseminating teen vaping prevention education throughout the state.


Nancy Cheney

SC CAN Quit Coordinator

After a distinguished career with the American Cancer Society, including being a founding member of the SC Tobacco-Free Collaborative (now Smokefree SC) and the SC Cancer Alliance, Nancy continues to work part-time on cancer prevention initiatives. As the SC CAN Quit Coordinator, she has engaged cancer centers around the state to participate in promoting quit smoking to cancer patients to help improve treatment outcomes.


Barbara Derrick

Finance & Operations Director

Barbara began serving as our Finance & Operations Director in May 2019 after retiring from 36 years in SC state government. Barbara is a graduate of the University of South Carolina with a BS in Business Administration in Accounting. Barbara leads our Point-of-Sale project, and having teenage daughters who are surrounded by vaping daily, she is particularly passionate about the issue and glad to be able to help affect change.


Megan Austin

Communications Coordinator

Megan is a recent graduate of the University of South Carolina with a Bachelor of Arts in Public Health and is now a first year Masters student at UofSC Arnold School of Public Health. Megan is working towards her Master of Public Health in Health Promotion, Education, and Behavior while concurrently obtaining a graduate certificate in Health Communications. Megan is very excited to be a part of the Smokefree SC team to get practical experience in health promotion and work towards a healthier South Carolina!

Board of Directors

Jim Thrasher, PhD, President

Univ. of South Carolina Arnold School of Public Health


Beth Johnson, Secretary

American Cancer S​ociety Cancer Action Network


Sharon Biggers, MPH, CHES (non-voting)

​SC Department of Health and Environmental Control


Taquina "TQ" Davis, MA

​Prisma Health Midlands


Reston Hartswell, MS-MPH

​Epidemiology Doctoral Student


Lloyd Kapp, MD

BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina


David Keely, MD, Vice-President

​Retired Physician & Community Advocate

Rock Hill


David Watkins II, CPA,Treasurer




Kathleen Cartmell, PhD, MPH

Clemson University


Deborah Dunbar

The Balm in Gilead


Thomas Jackson

Retired Retailer & Community Advocate